Central Office: 190 Kings Daughters Drive #300, Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: 502.695.6700 | Fax: 502.695.6708

Franklin County elementary schools to participate in federal meal program

Frankfort, KY, August 10, 2017 – The Franklin County Schools today announced that all students enrolled in its public elementary schools will be eligible for both breakfast and lunch at no charge under the National School Lunch/School Breakfast Programs. The district will start serving the free meals Wednesday, August 16, which is the first day of the 2017-2018 school year.

Every student at the Early Learning Village and Bridgeport, Collins Lane, Elkhorn, Hearn, Peaks Mill and Westridge elementary schools may request breakfast and/or lunch without having to pay a fee and without submitting a meal application. Under the program, the federal government will reimburse the district for the entire cost of every meal served in any of the participating schools.

Wendy Greenwell, School Nutrition Director, said, “We are glad to be able to offer the program again this year for all the elementary schools. We had many students take advantage of the program last year, especially for breakfast. While we are not able to provide the program for middle and high schools this year, we will look at that possibility again for the next school year.”

Print This Article
© 2018. Franklin County Public Schools. All Rights Reserved.
School CMS Created by eSchoolView
View text-based website